Nothing New Under the Sun

OK, break’s over. I’m back.

But what do I have to say that’s fresh, new, interesting, and exciting?

Nothing, lately, which is one reason I haven’t posted.

Why force creativity? If inspiration’s not there, why try to manufacture it?

I’ve spent the last few months trying to master the art of going with the flow. In the process, I’ve been flowing away from this laptop toward other things.

AND – I’d been working on serious posts. Serious posts are much harder to write. Serious posts have gravity and aren’t to be taken lightly. So I take them heavily.

Serious posts are cerebral. They’re intended to be thought-provoking. And they are; I think about them way too much, which is why they don’t get published. It’s why you’ve never read them, because they don’t get written in the first place.

AND – Since my foray into this strange, new world of blogging began, I’ve watched some of you (you know who you are!) whipping out great posts day after day. I set a goal for myself to publish a new post at least five times a week and failed miserably. I might as easily have stuck my head in a vice and cranked on it a little every day.

By setting the goal of writing more than what came naturally, I put too much pressure on myself. The result was inevitable.

AND – Last year while seeking simplicity I started writing a book, building a website, writing a blog, and half a dozen other projects; which all became decidedly un-simple.

So I put it all aside, focused on my family for the holidays, and enjoyed the season. After the holidays, when my internal calendar said it was time to get back to work, I questioned everything.

I questioned whether I wanted to blog at all. Why bother? It’s a legitimate question. Beyond the obvious answers; to reach out, to share, to learn, to grow, to have a creative outlet, etc., there must be some deeper underlying reason to blog. How about TO CHANGE THE WORLD!

I can already hear my nine year old son say, “Drama King.” Yes. I am. So?

Truth is, I do want to make a difference. I want what I do on a daily basis to matter. I have a unique voice and perspective, along with a gift for communicating it clearly.

I also want life to be simple.

To recap, I want a simple life AND I want to change the world.

AND – Intermingled amid simplicity and altruism is the necessity of providing for my family. Money comes in handy when we want to buy stuff like food, clothing, and shelter.

So to re-recap, I want life to be simple, AND I want to change the world, AND I have to make money. All of which, combined, makes my head spin. Which makes me want to stick my head in a vice.

But I can do it all. I don’t have to chose one or the other. I can have a simple life AND change the world AND make money.

Can’t I?

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Do NOT stick your head in a vise, you will not like it. You’ll have to trust me on this. DO rock the world and make a difference, the planet will be a better place for it. You can’t force inspiration or creativity, but you can speak your mind the way you do and make people think.

    Reply
    • Thank you. You definitely sound like a man speaking from experience. Besides, I don’t actually have a vice. Well, not the clamping kind. The other kind I have plenty of.

      Reply
  2. I wondered where you had been. I just built a website called http://compassion-changes.com and I would really love for you to do a guest blog there and tell about your life. It may seem uneventful to you, but simplicity is peaceful. Consider adding VCita.com to your talents. You could advise people how to simplify their lives and change the world all at once. I’d be happy to help you with that. Welcome back. …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

